The Closing of Winterland

Original Release Date

Shout Factory DVD Release


EAN 826663217056

Catnr. SF 21705


Jerry Garcia: Guitar, Vocals
Billy Kreutzmann: Drums
Phil Lesh: Bass, Vocals

Donna Jean Godchaux: Vocals

Keith Godchaux: Keyboards, Vocals
Bob Weir: Guitar, Vocals

Mickey Hart: Drums


Additional Musicians
Bill Graham: Master of Ceremonies
Dan Aykroyd: Midnight Countdown
John Cipollina: Guitar
Ken Kesey: Thunder Machine
Matthew Kelly: Harmonica
Lee Oskar: Harmonica
Greg Errico: Drums


Set I    

  1. Happy New Year
  2. Sugar Magnolia
  3. Scarlet Begonias
  4. Fire on the Mountain
  5. Thank You, Uncle Bobo
  6. Me and My Uncle
  7. Big River
  8. Friend of the Devil
  9. It's All Over Now
  10. Stagger Lee
  11. From the Heart of Me
  12. Sunshine Daydream
  13. Intermission

Set II    

  1. Samson and Delilah
  2. Ramble on Rose
  3. I Need a Miracle
  4. Terrapin Station
  5. Playing in the Band
  6. Rhythm Devils
  7. Not Fade Away
  8. Around and Around


Set III    

  1. Dark Star
  2. The Other One
  3. Dark Star
  4. Wharf Rat
  5. St. Stephen
  6. Good Lovin'


  1. Casey Jones
  2. Johnny B. Goode
  3. The Greatest Rock 'n' Roll Band There Ever Was
  4. We Bid You Goodnight
  5. Stay As Long As You Like


  1. Winterland: A Million Memories - Documentary
  2. The Blues Brothers: Soul Man & B Movie
  3. New Riders of the Purple Sage: Glendale Train
  4. Making of the DVD
  5. 2 A.M. - Interview with Bob Weir, Mickey Hart & Ken Kesey
  6. Bill Graham interview by Scoop Nisker
  7. Grateful Dead at Winterland Chronological History

Recorded Live December 31, 1978

Winterland Ballroom, San Francisco, CA

The Grateful Dead: The Closing of Winterland